Future? What Future?

Hey Fiends,

So it seems the Sci-Fi movies of the 60’s, 70’s and 80’s were blueprints for the society we live in today. Technology is moving so fast, it poses the question ‘Will it eat itself?’.. Well for me, it already has. I just saw a show on TV on how Driver-less cars will be the norm in 5 years. We won’t be able to ‘own’ these cars. They will come pick us up and drop us off for everything we need to do. Yeah, like UBER without a driver. There will be ‘zero’ car accidents, but we would not be able to drive our own cars..WHAT? For those that know me, you already know my Techno-Phobe ideals. For those that don’t, I’ll put some things into perspective. I came of age in the 70’s. I was one of those ‘Stoner’ Teenagers in the Mid-70’s. No Computers, No Cell Phones, nothing! The world was a different place. Seeking knowledge was a quest of discovery. But you had to go ‘outside’ to participate in this quest. The things I wanted to learn was not on TV, or even in books. I was obsessed with ‘Black Sabbath’ and Horror Movies. I could learn a ton of knowledge about Horror Films in books and magazines (Thank you ‘Famous Monsters”)..But to learn about the Concert Industry, well ‘Hit Parader’ and ‘Creem’ didn’t do that much for me..When ‘Kerrang’ came out of the UK, that was like the saving grace magazine for the hard rockers like myself. But you really had to go to concerts for the full experience..And man, my experience back in those days was priceless..

At the time, our group of social misfits was unlike anything you can understand. We were a rowdy bunch that was thrown out of High School. We traded our books for Guitars and were on the path to Rock N Roll glory. We lived in a sheltered backwater town of NJ. Every weekend we would venture across the bridge into Philadelphia and see national concerts at ‘The Spectrum’..Every week!! We were obsessed!! We didn’t care who was playing. We needed our fix. Little did we know back then, that we were experiencing historic concert events. It was just the normal life of music crazed kids. I still reflect back on those years with amazement. I rarely get time to say this stuff on air, but I believe one day, when technology eats itself. we will return to those wondrous times. Seriously, I have seen the ‘original’ BLACK SABBATH 3 times in the 70’s. Along with MOTORHEAD, RUSH, PINK FLOYD, RAINBOW (with Ronnie) AC / DC (with Bon Scott), IRON MAIDEN (with Paul DiAnno), JUDAS PRIES, EMERSON LAKE & PALMER. I don’t want this rant to go on forever, so I’ll just say I have witnessed ‘every’ rock band live of the 70’s era. YES, every single one..and ‘multiple’ times at that..

This is what I decided to dedicate my life’s work to..The music industry. By 1980 I was playing the clubs with my own band. My weekends were ‘not’ spent at The Philadelphia Spectrum anymore (Well, unless Sabbath was playing lol). They were spent at clubs and festivals with my band. There were other bands in our circle that we constantly did shows with like CINDERELLA, BRITNEY FOX, OVERKILL, and lots more. They were our equals before they got signed to mega contracts. My band was nothing like any of those bands. We were extremely heavy and dark for those times (Sabbath influence remember). We didnt fluff our hair or wear mascara. We were the ‘Odd Man Out’ on the scene. But hey, the bikers loved us. We did conform to the 80’s standard and we wrapped ourselves in chains, spandex and dripping makeup (ala Alice Cooper) for about a year or so, but the denim n leather came back, and we trudged along, and made a historic name for ourselves on the Jersey Shore.. My touring career pretty much ended in 2002 when I started work for Sony Records, and ‘Rock Solid Pressure’ was born. I have 8 albums under my belt. Some signed, some not. It was a long road. In the 90’s I became a Journalist for a few high profile Metal magazines, which put me back in the venues I was playing, but I would also interview the national acts I was opening for. All of this was a quest for discovery in the REAL world. No technology, no Computers. The lesson of life I learned growing up could ‘never’ be learned on a Computer..

Don’t get me wrong. I have to use a Computer in this day and age like everybody else. I have to use the iphone, and yeah, I rolled with technology. But it’s not something I feel will give the kids of today a REAL learning experience in life. LIPS from ANVIL is a friend of mine. I like having long discussions with him every time the band plays State Theatre. He’s just like me..A great thinker (lol) He believes the Internet will fold one day. Shit, he believes ‘electricity’ will fold one day. Would you be ready for that? I would..In fact, most of the people in their 40’s and 50’s (and beyond) would probably welcome it..All this future technology leaves me with a sense of dread. Am I too old for a brave new world? I just feel there is an implosion coming..That’s all

Here’s a rundown of the Rock Solid Pressure playlist for the past few weeks..Hope you all have been tuning in..

*THE PLAYLIST TO DIE FOR  5/23/16

  1. NIGHTWISH: Your’s Is An Empty Hope (Nuclear Blast) debut
  2. ABORTED: Bit By Bit (Century Media) debut track
  3. CALIBAN: Paralyzed (Century Media) debut track
  4. MYRATH: Legacy (Nightmare) debut
  5. THE DOOD: Jesus Bleeding (debut)
  6. EVERYBODY PANIC: No One Get’s Out Alive (CavGold) debut
  7. NETHERLANDS: L.M.M. (Prosthetic) debut
  8. ROB ZOMBIE: Satanic Cyanide (debut track)
  9. NONHUMAN ERA: The Destiny Machine (debut track)
  10. RED TIDE RISING: New Breed (debut)
  11. THE HELL: Brutopia (Prosthetic) debut track

*MEMORIAL DAY SPECIAL  5/30/16

  1. ANTHRAX: Defend Avenge (Megaforce) debut
  2. MEGADETH: The Threat Is Real (Tradecraft / Universal) debut track
  3. TEMPEST RISING: War
  4. RAMMING SPEED: Horns Of War (Prosthetic) debut track
  5. REDNEK MESSIAH: Hunting Season (debut track)
  6. DROWNING POOL: Soldiers (Eleven Seven) debut track
  7. THE DEFIANT: Old 666
  8. EXODUS: War Is My Shepherd (Nuclear Blast) debut track
  9. MANOWAR: Call To Arms (Magic Circle) debut
  10. INGLORIOUS: Inglorious (Frontiers) debut track
  11. MEGADETH: Blood Of Heroes (Capitol) debut (RIP Nick Menza)

*THE PLAYLIST TO DIE FOR  6/6/16

  1. POLAR: Tidal Waves And Hurricanes (Prosthetic) debut
  2. DARK FUNERAL: Beast Above Men (Century Media) debut
  3. MINDSHIFT: Absolution (Eclipse) debut track
  4. ROB ZOMBIE: In The Bone Pile (debut track)
  5. LACUNA COIL: The House Of Shame (Century Media) debut
  6. CRIMSON SUN: Portrait Of A Ghost (Maple Metal) debut
  7. RED TIDE RISING: Sound Of Voices Screaming (debut)
  8. CODA CUTLASS: New Machine (debut)
  9. SCREAMING AT THE SILENCE: Mud Sank The Casket (debut)
  10. (DE)ABSOLVE: The Rot (debut)

*INDUSTRY SHOWCASE NEWS: Do you all have your ticket for the RSP Industry Showcase on Sept 24th? Most of you that attend religiously every year know how fast this event sells out. You can get an ‘Advance Price’ ticket from any one of the 20 bands that have been chosen to perform this year. The event page is now up on facebook. You can see the complete lineup and set times over there. Have you joined? If not..GET TO IT !!

*UPCOMING CONCERT EVENTS

Friday 6/10: The Local 662: CYPHER MACHINE, MEATSPACE, FUNERAL FOR A CLOWN, KRYSTAL FINGER, AUDITORY ARMORY

Saturday 6/11: The Local 662: BLITZ 2 featuring CODA CUTLASS, DRASTIC FALL, SAHE, DIDGES CHRIST SUPERDRUM, CHRONOLOGIC

Saturday 6/25: THE FALLING AXE FEST 5 featuring KADAVER DOLLS, UNBROKKEN, COLDCLOCK KNOCKOUT, (DE)ABSOLVE, GRASPING AT THE SHADOW, KRYSTAL FINGER, OTHERWORLD

Friday 7/1 : State Theatre: STU HAMM with DRASTIC FALL, THE SKARZ, NEW TATTOO

Saturday 7/2 : OL GLORY RISING 3 featuring 5 STAR HOOKER, SAHE, SLINGSHOT ROBOT, POLAR SUMMER, DEVIATE THE PLAN

*To find the ‘official’ event pages for these events. Go to The State Theatre’s facebook page, and The Local 662’s facebook page

Make sure to tune in to THE ROCK SOLID PRESSURE SHOW every Monday night at 7:00pm EST USA..You’ll learn stuff..

That’s all I got..till next month..Cya in the field

J-Rock

Leave a Reply

